Casting The Boy With The Bread

Entertainment Weekly reports that 18-year-old Josh Hutcherson wants to play Peeta in the Hunger Games movie. Hutcherson has read a script and met with director Gary Ross, though he can’t confirm anything now. On Peeta, Hutcherson says:

I love Peeta. The character is so much who I am—self deprecating, a people person. And he’d be such a great character to play! Like in the third book? Oh my God.

Well now! I definitely like that he’s a fan of the books, and he seems to understand the character. I love that he’s excited about Peeta’s big change of heart in Mockingjay, which would definitely be a challenge for the actor.

I actually know Hutcherson as the kid from 2008’s Journey to the Center of the Earth, but you may also recognize him from Bridge to Terabithia or The Kids Are All Right. I can’t really judge his dramatic acting skills, but I’d say that he certainly has the charm to pull off Peeta, without being cocky.

My only concern would be age. At 18 Hutcherson isn’t outside the realm of believability, but he definitely looks more mature now than he did even three years ago. If you consider that they’ll likely make all three movies, he’d probably be 21 or older by the time they finish filming. On the other hand, he’s the youngest of any of the rumored candidates for Peeta (Hunter Parrish or Alex Pettyfer). I do think it’s important to cast younger actors in this film, like I said yesterday, but 18 might be as young as the studio is willing to go.

What do you guys think? Would you like to see Josh Hutcherson in this role? Who is your ideal Peeta?

One thought on “Casting The Boy With The Bread

  1. He is definitely a much better pick than Pettyfer, because of both age and acting talent. I can definitely see him as Peeta, especially if they dye his hair blonde. And if they cast him maybe they would cast a younger Katniss and not Jennifer Lawrence!

Leave a Reply

