Catherine Hardwicke To Direct Maze Runner Movie

Illustration by Phillip Straub

I actually just finished the sequel to James Dashner’s The Maze Runner, and I was surprised it hadn’t already been optioned for a movie! It seems like an obvious choice for such an action-packed book which features a bunch of teenagers in a mysterious maze and gooey Blob monsters with Edward Scissorhands appendages. Awesome, right?

Well, apparently it is being made into a film, and Catherine Hardwicke is directing. Hardwicke is the director of Twilight and Thirteen. I’m not a Twilight fan, but I liked Thirteen and some other movies she’s directed, so hopefully this means good things for The Maze Runner!

I’ll be posting a review for the second book in the series, The Scorch Trials, later this week. I’m sorry for the lack of reviews lately, but with Thanksgiving and my crazy work schedule (remember that I work in retail!), I haven’t had much time to write up reviews. I have been reading a lot, though, so there will probably be a deluge of reviews once I get a day or two off!

Leave a Reply

